# of CIVIL TRIAL ATTORNEYS OACTA

The Source for Defense Success

Ohio

ASSOCIATION

# <mark>2()</mark>17 NNUAL MEETING

## November 16-17 **Hilton Cleveland Downtown** Cleveland, Ohio

Hill THE MALE III

Jevelana

# PROGRAM

## Thursday | November 16th

	8:00-8:30am	Registration/Continental Breakfast/ Exhibits Open Sponsored by: Donan Engineering Co., Inc.
	8:30am	Welcome Brian D. Kerns, Esq. OACTA President Jennifer R. Becker, Esq. OACTA Annual Meeting Chair Jennifer L. Myers, Esq. OACTA Annual Meeting Moderator
	8:45-10:00am	"Scientific Trial Preparation" Daniel W. Dugan, Ph.D. Trial Science, Inc., Reno, NV
	10:00-10:15am	Networking & Break with Exhibitors
	10:15-11:00am	<b>"10 Practical Tips for Trial Attorneys"</b> Judge James L. Kimbler ( <i>Retired</i> ) Retired Judge, Medina County Common Pleas Cour
	11:00am-Noon	"Canada's Litigation Landscape: Headlines from Above the Fold" Susan E. Gunter, LL.M. Dutton Brock LLP, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
	Noon-1:30pm	OACTA Awards Luncheon & Annual Business Meeting Sponsored by: Minnesota Lawyers Mutual Insurance Co.
CONTRACTOR OF A DESIGNATION OF A DESIGNA	1:30-1:45pm	Chair Yoga Judi Bar Yoga Program Manager Cleveland Clinic Wellness Institute
	1:45-2:30pm	"Catastrophic Loss Events - A View from The Trenches" Kevin Sean Williams, Esq. Independent Consultant, Paget, Bermuda
	2:30-2:45pm	Networking & Break with Exhibitors

continued

# PROGRAM

continued

2:45-3:45pm	"The Art of Conversation and Picking Your Best Juries" Douglas M. McIntosh, Esq. McIntosh Sawran & Cartaya, P.A. Fort Lauderdale, FL Sponsored by: DRI			
3:45-5:15pm	"Selecting Panel Counsel Lawyers, From the Insurance Claims Executive Perspective" Daniel A. Winkler Westfield Insurance, Westfield Center, OH Charles R. Wendland, CCP, SCLA National Interstate, Richfield, OH Steve Popelsky, JD, ARM Motorists Mutual Insurance Co, Columbus, OH MODERATOR: Jennifer L. Myers, Esq. Poling Law, Columbus, OH			
6:00-9:00pm	OACTA EVENING SOCIAL EVENT The Corner Alley (ticket required) East 4th St. & Euclid Ave., Cleveland, OH Co-Sponsored by: Robson Forensic & Veritext Continuous shuttle service, via Lolly the Trolley, is available from the Ontario St. entrance. Transportation sponsored by: Bonezzi Switzer Polito & Hupp Co., LPA.			

### Friday | November 17th

8:00-9:00am	Continental Breakfast/Exhibits Open
8:15-9:00am	Committee Meetings
9:00-10:00am	"A View from the Bench: What Civil Trial Lawyers Need to Know" PANEL: Judge Joyce V. Kimbler Medina County Court of Common Pleas Judge Mark A. Betleski Lorain County Court of Common Pleas Judge Nancy R. McDonnell Cuyahoga County Court of Common Pleas MODERATOR: Jennifer L. Myers, Esq. Poling Law, Columbus, OH
10:00-10:15am	Networking & Break with Exhibitors
10:15-10:30am	Exhibitor Door Prizes
10:30am-Noon	<b>"Updates on Legal Ethics &amp; Professional Responsibility in Ohio" Bryan L. Penvose, Esq.</b> Koblentz & Penvose, LLC, Cleveland, OH

Adjournment

Noon

#### **CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION**

This course has been approved by the Supreme Court of Ohio Commission on Continuing Legal Education for 8.75 total CLE hours, with 1.50 of attorney professional conduct instruction. The course has been approved by the Kentucky Bar Association for 8.75 credits, including 1.50 ethics credit.

#### **2017 BOARD OF TRUSTEES**

PRESIDENT Brian D Kerns, Esq.

VICE PRESIDENT Jill K. Mercer, Esq.

TREASURER James N. Kline Esq.

SECRETARY Jamey T. Pregon, Esq.

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT John J. Garvey, III, Esq.

> EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Debbie Nunner, CAE

EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT Laney Mollenkopf TRUSTEES Alexander M. Andrews , Esq. Amy Mass, Esq. Mark F. McCarthy, Esq. Paul W. McCartney, Esq. Michael M. Neltner, Esq. David Orlandini, Esq. David W. Peck, Esq. Daniel A Richards, Esq. Benjamin C. Sassé, Esq. Anne Marie Sferra, Esq. Elizabeth T. Smith, Esq. Hilary S. Taylor, Esq. Andrew Vollmar, Esq. Natalie M. E. Wais, Esq.

## PAST PRESIDENTS

John J. Garvey, III (2016 James L. Mann (201 Anne Marie Sferra (2014 Kurt D. Anderson (201) Kevin C. Connell (201 Gary L. Grubler (201 John M. Hands (2010 Gretchen Koehler Mote (2009 Gregory E. O'Brien (2008 Scott A. Gillam (200)Stephen V. Freeze (2006 James R. Gallagher (200)Carolyn A. Taggart (200 James L. McCrystal, Jr. (200)Peter J. Hersha (200)Nicholas E. Subashi (200 (2000 Stephen K. Shaw Irene C. Keyse-Walker (199 Frederick Hunker (1998 Cormac B. DeLaney (199 Steven T. Sloan (1996)Eugene F. Tierney (199 Timothy D. Johnson (1994 Neil F. Freund (199 Sandra K. Wetzel (199) John T. Brown (1991)

6)	*H. William Bamman	(1990)
5)	Terrance M. Miller	(1989)
4)	John B. Robertson	(1988)
3)	Charles E. West	(1987)
2)	Ronald A. Rispo	(1986)
1)	James S. Oliphant	(1985)
0)	David M. McCreary	(1984)
9)	Jeffrey W. Hutson	(1983)
8)	* William T. McCracken	(1982)
7)	*Robert Sidwell	(1981)
6)	John E. Martindale	(1980)
5)	*Roger Nelson	(1979)
4)	Theodore D. Sawyer	(1978)
3)	*Robert J. Avey	(1977)
2)	Charles W. Kitchen	(1976)
1)	Donald D. Messmer	(1975)
0)	*James H. Wilkinson	(1974)
9)	*Knox M. Stewart	(1973)
8)	* Daniel M. Phillips	(1972)
7)	DeLloyd L. Roush	(1971)
6)	*E. Terry Warren	(1970)
5)	*John W. Richards	(1969)
4)	*Rudolph Janata	(1968)
3)	*Leroy Kennedy	(1967)
2)	* Frank S. Hurd	(1966)
1)	* Deceased	

#### MISSION

The mission of the Ohio Association on of Civil Trial Attorneys is to promote fairness, excellence, and integrity in the civil justice system by providing resources and education on to attorneys and others dedicated to the defense of civil actions.

#### DIVERSITY

OACTA believes that a diverse membership makes a stronger organization on. OACTA encourages diversity in all aspects of its activities and is committed to nurturing a culture that supports and promotes diversity.